Lee Joon Gi discharged!

1 2

After two years of service, actor Lee Jun Ki was honorably discharged from the Korean military.

On February 16th, the actor stepped out from the gates of the Seoul Yongsan army base, saluting the crowd of fans and reporters eagerly awaiting for his appearance. Lee Jun Ki was presented with a cake to celebrate his discharge, which came with a mini fondant sculpture.

From the get-go, Lee Jun Ki will be rushing to meet various schedules, which includes a fan meeting and preparations for the release of his new Japanese single, ‘Deucer‘.

The star enlisted with the army in May of 2010, and he served with the public relations department within the Ministry of National Defense.

Welcome back, Lee Jun Ki!

Lee Joon Gi about Park Hyo Shin

On whether his successors felt sorry he was leaving, he answered with a laugh, “I heard I was a soldier down to the bone. My successors called me a harsh senior. One even told me they thought I would apply to stay as a long-term career soldier.”

Lee entered the military on May 3, 2010, and served in the Defense Media Agency for 22 months. Despite the long break, approximately 2,000 fans, many who came from overseas, and a big crowd of press members swarmed to his release to watch his return to the public.

Lee added, “Yesterday, before my release, I had a heart to heart with my successors. They said they were stressed because I went by the filed manual too much. Some even said I overdid it. But I felt a special tie with corporal Park Hyo Shin, who I continuously ran into. I even felt sorry I had to leave him.”

“I had many difficult times, but I pulled through my time in the military thanks to the help of my successors and military officials,” Lee finished. “There are many things I’m sorry about and many difficulties I went through, but I thank my fans who supported me in every moment.”

Lee plans to officially return to the public starting with his fanmeeting to be held on the afternoon of the same day in Seoul.